2016 World Championship: Group Stages, Week 2

Posted on at 12:45 PM by Aznbeat
[UPDATE @ 9 PST 10/9: Day 8 and Group B complete! Eight teams moving on to quarterfinals have been decided. Post now includes post group stage results, vods, quarterfinal bracket! ]

The 2016 World Championship continues with week two of the Group Stages! By Sunday night, our 16 competing teams will be narrowed down to 8 as the top two from each group move on to Knockout stage!
Continue reading for a (spoiler free) look at team info, schedules, and VODs once they become available!

( Please be aware that this post WILL BE UPDATED as the action continues throughout the week. VODs and any other pertinent info will be posted once available! )

Table of Contents


[POST DAY 8 UPDATE]

The Group stage is complete! In the interest of remaining spoiler free, click the links below to see the results of the group stage and the quarterfinal bracket that was drawn live after the final game.



The first quarterfinal match starts up THURSDAY OCTOBER 13th @ 3 PM PDT / 12 AM CEST / 7 AM KST.

Riot has also updated the fan contribution from the Championship Zed and Championship Ward purchases - the total Worlds prize pool is now up to $4.1 million! See this article for more info.
Also don't forget to set your QUARTERFINALS PICK'EM!

Group Stages Information

The 2016 World Championship  starts on September 29th with the GROUP STAGES, kicking off a month of games where the best teams in the world will compete for title of 2016 World Champions and cash prizes totaling over $2,000,000!

 During group stages, the 16 teams are split into four groups of four teams each then play in a double round robin-style, best of 1 matches - each team plays every other team in its group twice.  Following two weeks of group stage competition, only eight teams of the original 16 teams will continue to knockout stages until one team emerges our world champion.

Group Stage Week 2 will have teams from each group play on the same day. Tiebreakers will be played following each days matches if needed.

Rules and Overview for 2016 World Championship can be found [here]. The 2016 World Championship will be played on patch 6.18. Yorick is disabled.

Stream

Worlds 2016 has two streams - the main stream where each game is played and cast normally and a player experience stream which focuses on a specific lane or match up and has an alternative set of casters.

Main Stream

Youtube // Twitch

Player Experience Stream - Schedule


[Day 5 // Day 6 // Day 7 // Day 8]


Schedule

Standings from week 1 as we head into week 2:

Day 5 - October 6th - Beginning at 4:00 PM PST // 13:00 CET

G2 Esports vs. ROX Tigers
4:00 PM PST // 1:00 CET
[VOD]

Albus NoX Luna vs. Counter Logic Gaming
5:00 PM PST // 2:00 CET
[VOD]

Counter Logic Gaming vs. G2 Esports
6:00 PM PST // 3:00 CET
[VOD]

Albus NoX Luna vs. ROX Tigers
7:00 PM PST // 4:00 CET
[VOD]

G2 Esports vs. Albus NoX Luna
8:00 PM PST // 5:00 CET
[VOD]

ROX Tigers vs. Counter Logic Gaming
9:00 PM PST // 6:00 CET
[VOD]


TIEBREAKER 1
[VOD]

[RESULTS: GROUP A IS NOW COMPLETE AND TOP TWO TEAMS ARE MOVING ON!]

Day 6 - October 7th - Beginning at 4:00 PM PST // 13:00 CET

Edward Gaming vs. INTZ e-Sports
4:00 PM PST // 1:00 CET
[VOD]

ahq e-Sports Club vs. H2K
5:00 PM PST // 2:00 CET
[VOD]

H2K vs. Edward Gaming
6:00 PM PST // 3:00 CET
[VOD]

INTZ e-Sports vs. ahq e-Sports Club
7:00 PM PST // 4:00 CET
[VOD]

INTZ e-Sports vs. H2K
8:00 PM PST // 5:00 CET
[VOD]

ahq e-Sports Club vs. Edward Gaming
9:00 PM PST // 6:00 CET
[VOD]

TIEBREAKER 1
[VOD]

[RESULTS]

Day 7 - October 8th - Beginning at 1:00 PM PST // 10:00 CET

Samsung Galaxy vs. TSM
1:00 PM PST // 22:00 CET
[VOD]

Splyce vs. Royal Never Give Up
2:00 PM PST // 23:00 CET
[VOD]

TSM vs. Splyce
3:00 PM PST // 00:00 CET
[VOD]

Samsung Galaxy vs. Royal Never Give Up
4:00 PM PST // 1:00 CET
[VOD]

Splyce vs. Samsung Galaxy
5:00 PM PST // 2:00 CET
[VOD]

Royal Never Give Up vs. TSM
6:00 PM PST // 3:00 CET
[VOD]

[RESULTS]

Day 8 - October 9th - Beginning at 1:00 PM PST // 10:00 CET

I MAY vs. Flash Wolves
1:00 PM PST // 22:00 CET
[VOD]

Cloud9 vs. SK Telecom T1
2:00 PM PST // 23:00 CET
[VOD]

Cloud9 vs. Flash Wolves
3:00 PM PST // 00:00 CET
[VOD]

SK Telecom T1 vs. I MAY
4:00 PM PST // 1:00 CET
[VOD]

I MAY vs. Cloud9
5:00 PM PST // 2:00 CET
[VOD]

Flash Wolves vs. SK Telecom T1
6:00 PM PST // 3:00 CET
[VOD]

Following this week's matches, 2016 WC will continue with the knockout stages from October 13th through the finals on October 29th!

In-game Content & Merch

With Worlds 2016 comes a selection of in-game content and skins as well as new merchandise! 
A horde of 2016 World Championship in-game content is now available in the shop, including Championship Zed, upgradeable Team Summoner icons, ward skins, returning championship, challenger, and team legacy skins, and more are available through November 6th!
A new change this year is that 25% of every Championship Zed and Championship ward goes to the total Worlds 2016 prize pool!
In addition to the team icons for RP, a 2016 World Championship summoner icon is available for 1 IP through November 6th! For those upgrading icons, don't forget to pick up your championship jewels for IP during EACH worlds broadcast day!
If you participated in the Worlds Pick'Em , remember to check in on your progress throughout the two weeks of group stages and lock in your next set of predictions before the knock out stage starts.

A new set of Worlds 2016 merch is now available in the Riot Games merch store, including a new Championship Riven figure, bomber jacket, and more!

No comments

Post a Comment