2016 World Championship - Group Stages: Week 1

Posted on at 1:51 AM by Aznbeat
[NOTE:  Day 4 has concluded and VODS/Results added to post. Check back next week for week 2! ]

The 2016 World Championship kicks off with week one of the Group Stages!
Continue reading for a (spoiler free) look at team info, schedules, and VODs once they become available!

( Please be aware that this post WILL BE UPDATED as the action continues throughout the week. VODs and any other pertinent info will be posted once available! )

Table of Contents


Group Stages Information

The 2016 World Championship  starts on September 29th with the GROUP STAGES, kicking off a month of games where the best teams in the world will compete for title of 2016 World Champions and cash prizes totaling over $2,000,000!

 During group stages, the 16 teams are split into four groups of four teams each then play in a double round robin-style, best of 1 matches - each team plays every other team in its group twice. Following two weeks of group stage competition, only eight teams of the original 16 teams will continue to knockout stages until one team emerges our world champion.

Rules and Overview for 2016 World Championship can be found [here]. The 2016 World Championship will be played on patch 6.18. Yorick is disabled. Aurelion Sol disabled until day 4 - more info here.

Stream

Worlds 2016 has two streams - the main stream where each game is played and cast normally and a player experience stream which focuses on a specific lane or match up and has an alternative set of casters.

Main Stream

Youtube // Twitch

Player Experience Stream - Schedule


[Day 1 // Day 2 // Day 3 // Day 4]

Participating Teams

Sixteen of the world's best teams will be  participating in  the 2016 World Championship. These 16 teams are split into four groups of four teams each. For more info on the Groups stage, see this LoLesports article.

Group A

Group B

Group C

Group D

Schedule


Day 1  - September 29th - Beginning at 4:00 PM PST // 1:00 CET

G2 Esports vs. Counter Logic Gaming
4:30 PM PST // 1:30 CET
[VOD]

ROX Tigers vs. Albus NoX Luna
5:30 PM PST // 2:30 CET
[VOD]

H2K vs. ahq e-Sports Club
6:30 PM PST // 3:30 CET
[VOD]

INTZ e-Sports vs. Edward Gaming
7:30 PM PST // 4:30 CET
[VOD]

Samsung Galaxy vs. Splyce
8:30 PM PST // 5:30 CET
[VOD]

TSM vs. Royal Never Give Up
9:30 PM PST // 6:30 CET
[VOD]

[Results]

Day 2 - September 30th - Beginning at 4:00 PM PST // 1:00 CET

SK Telecom T1 vs. Cloud9
4:00 PM PST // 1:00 CET
[VOD]

Flash Wolves vs. I MAY
5:00 PM PST // 2:00 CET
[VOD]

TSM vs. Samsung Galaxy
6:00 PM PST // 3:00 CET
[VOD]

Royal Never Give Up vs. Splyce
7:00 PM PST // 4:00 CET
[VOD]

H2K vs. INTZ e-Sports
8:00 PM PST // 5:00 CET
[VOD]

Edward Gaming vs. ahq e-Sports Club
9:00 PM PST // 6:00 CET
[VOD]

[Results]

Day 3 - October 1st - Beginning at 4:00 PM PST // 1:00 CET

Counter Logic Gaming vs. Albus NoX Luna
4:00 PM PST // 1:00 CET
[VOD]

ROX Tigers vs. G2 Esports
5:00 PM PST // 2:00 CET
[VOD]

Flash Wolves vs. Cloud9
6:00 PM PST // 3:00 CET
[VOD]

I MAY vs. SK Telecom T1
7:00 PM PST // 4:00 CET
[VOD]

Splyce vs. TSM
8:00 PM PST // 5:00 CET
[VOD]

Royal Never Give Up vs. Samsung Galaxy
9:00 PM PST // 6:00 CET
[VOD]

[Results]

Day 4 - October 2nd - Beginning at 4:00 PM PST // 1:00 CET

ahq e-Sports Club vs. INTZ e-Sports
4:00 PM PST // 1:00 CET
[VOD]

Edward Gaming vs. H2K
5:00 PM PST // 2:00 CET
[VOD]

Albus NoX Luna vs. G2 Esports
6:00 PM PST // 3:00 CET
[VOD]

Counter Logic Gaming vs. ROX Tigers
7:00 PM PST // 4:00 CET
[VOD]

SK Telecom T1 vs. Flash Wolves
8:00 PM PST // 5:00 CET
[VOD]

Cloud9 vs. I MAY
9:00 PM PST // 6:00 CET
[VOD]

[Results]

 Following this week's matches, 2016 WC will continue with the second week of group stages Oct 6th - 9th!

In-game Content & Merch

With Worlds 2016 comes a selection of in-game content and skins as well as new merchandise! 
A horde of 2016 World Championship in-game content is now available in the shop, including Championship Zed, upgradeable Team Summoner icons, ward skins, returning championship, challenger, and team legacy skins, and more are available through November 6th!
A new change this year is that 25% of every Championship Zed and Championship ward goes to the total Worlds 2016 prize pool!
In addition to the team icons for RP, a 2016 World Championship summoner icon is available for 1 IP through November 6th! For those upgrading icons, don't forget to pick up your championship jewels for IP during EACH worlds broadcast day!
If you participated in the Worlds Pick'Em , remember to check in on your progress throughout the two weeks of group stages and lock in your next set of predictions before the knock out stage starts.

A new set of Worlds 2016 merch is now available in the Riot Games merch store, including a new Championship Riven figure, bomber jacket, and more!

No comments

Post a Comment